Review: The Dark Realm: Feyland Book 1 by Anthea Sharp

Goodreads Blurb

What if a high-tech computer game was a gateway to the dangerous Realm of Faerie?

When a game…

Feyland is the most immersive computer game ever designed, and Jennet Carter is the first to play the prototype. But she doesn’t suspect the virtual world is close enough to touch — or that she’ll be battling for her life against the Dark Queen of the faeries.

Turns real…

Tam Linn is the perfect hero — in-game. Too bad the rest of his life is seriously flawed. The last thing he needs is rich-girl Jennet prying into his secrets, insisting he’s the only one who can help her.

Winning is everything…

Together, Jennet and Tam enter the Dark Realm of Feyland, only to discover that the entire human world is in danger. Pushed to the limit of their abilities, they must defeat the Dark Queen… before it’s too late.

My Review: Rated 5 out of 5 Stars

Received this book from the author in exchange for a review. I must say this book was out of this world. I loved it. It was the first book I have ever read that involved a video game or should I say a secret world. It grabbed my attention from the very beginning, with the Queen taking away Jennet’s soul. It was scary since video games have become a big part of our society, and who knows if a video game that feels real and appears in true life can happen? I was so hurt when Tam was taken into the game and spared Jennets life. I was so happy that the real true hero was Jennet, who gave all she had to save Tam from ending up like Thomas. This book really put fear in me. Having to go through the Goblins and hounds trying to rip them apart. I felt like I was living there fears too.The lyrics to the ballad were invigorating. I really loved how Anthea used the lyrics and the story plot into her book. The book was very easy to read and understand. I was at the edge of my seat, waiting to see what would happen next in the world of Feyland. Thanks for writing such an amazing book. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series. All the books in the series have beautiful covers.

Author Biography

Growing up, Anthea Sharp spent her summers raiding the library shelves and reading, especially fantasy. She now makes her home in the Pacific Northwest, where she writes, plays the fiddle, hangs out in virtual worlds, and spends time with her small-but-good family. Contact her at antheasharp@hotmail.com, follow her on twitter, find her on facebook (http://www.facebook.com/AntheaSharp), and visit her website.

Leave a comment